Hanging with my Homies

Sophie shortly after her surgery

Day 15 of three weeks, camping in the living room with Sophie (my dog Soul loved one) and Emily (our cat Soul buddy).  Sophie’s cataract surgery went fine, and our one week checkup was good. But we are still needing some 20 eye ointments per day, from 4:15 am to 11:45 pm, on a schedule I have developed to meet the required frequencies of each of seven ointments (plus some oral meds with her meals).

We are beginning to taper on the ointments. Our goal is to successfully reach the three week checkup, on the 19th (5 ½ days yet to go to reach that juncture). After that the meds should taper much more and we should not need the cone on most of the time after then (hopefully).

So far, so good. It is not easy, day to day, We need to keep up also with cleaning around and in the eyes from the accumulating ointments, which I am not that good at managing but am trying to do as well as possible. In a cone almost always still, because of the danger yet of impacting the sutures.

But Sophie no longer has cataracts, has new lenses instead! Our task is to foster the best possible long-term recovery so she can have good vision for the rest of her life.

Sophie a day or two ago

I have rejoined Instacart so I do not need to leave Sophie’s side at all, 24/7. This is an interesting capacity I gained during the Covid lockdown. If we could stay at home then, we can now!

Would I recommend this arduous process to others considering cataract surgery for their beloved animal friend?  Well, yes, I would, although it may not be for everyone to take on such a process. It requires certainly a long and truly humbling, at times even scary maintenance regime. It is harder than I expected it to be, but is worthwhile. Our regular vet says he would not do this for his own dogs because he feels their sense of smell might be of greater value to them than sight. I believe good vision is a quality of life matter for dear Sophie.

I have come to realize this is about Sophie undergoing this major transition for herself. I am but her human agency (since I love her and have the opposable thumbs in the family).  She is the one doing the healing, from within. We are a team (also with Emily, who has been an amazing source of healing purrs to us both.)  Being home 24/7 as we minister to and monitor Sophie’s healing provides us both with a golden moment of giving and receiving love.

I try to think of our extended adventure not so much as day by day but from length to length between major checkup goals. So five days plus a morning until our big checkup visit with the doctor for our three week milestone. Until then, we are hunkered down, bunking on a single mattress in the living room, tending to our routine, with love and patience.

May the Blessings Be!

Leave a comment